Empties No. 1

empties1

Time to share with you the products I’ve used up over the past few months!  Empties videos are some of my favorites to watch on YouTube so I thought I’d try it out as a blog post.  If you’ve used up something until you’re scraping the sides of the bottle, chances are you can give a pretty good review!  Plus, who doesn’t love rummaging through someone else’s trash? (There’s the touch of sarcasm by the way.  It’s rather hard to convey in writing.)

empties3

Let’s get started!  Up first are some shower products.  I’ve finished the Caress Body Wash in Passionate Spell, which is supposed to smell like passion fruit and firey orange rose.  I’m not quite sure what a firey orange rose is supposed to smell like (smoke?), but the Caress body washes always smell amazing.  This one is a very nice sexy, musky scent with a touch of fruit and floral.  I’m using a different scent currently but I’ve used up several of these already, so I’d definitely repurchase.  The Neutrogena Shampoo is my clarifying shampoo of choice.  I’ll use this maybe once or twice a month to remove any product buildup from styling products and dry shampoos.  I’ve also finished up the L’Oreal Eversleek Reparative Smoothing Conditioner.  Please excuse the manky tube, it get’s messy trying to get every last drop!  This is another conditioner I’ve used for at least a year on and off.  Sulfate free hair care doesn’t cause any itching or breakouts on my scalp, which has happened in the past.

empties3

Next, I finished a package of Simple Radiance Cleansing Wipes.  I use these after I workout as a quick clean up before I actually wash my face and all that jazz.  They were fine and I might repurchase but I wasn’t blown away.  My Jergens Soothing Aloe body lotion is also gone.  It’s nice for the summer and I like Jergens as a brand.  They work well and I’ve used them for years, but I think I prefer the Ultra Healing one.  I find it more hydrating.  I also finished a deodorant because… well… no one wants to be smelly?  The Secret Clinical Strength Stress Response Serene Citrus Scent smells nice and does the job.  The one hair product I’ve finished is the BlowPro Textstyle Dry Texture Spray.  I use this along with dry shampoo to refresh second day hair and give it some volume.  It also gives my hair good grip if I’m doing any sort of updo.  You can read my full review here.

empties4

Then we have some skincare and makeup bits.  I use the CeraVe Foaming Facial Cleanser morning and night.  It cleans my skin but doesn’t leave it feeling tight and dry.  It’s a fairly basic cleanser, but my skin reacts well to it so I’ve already repurchased.  The CeraVe Renewing SA Lotion is a rather unique product in my opinion.  I use it as a body lotion, but it contains salicylic acid to help exfoliate any dry, rough skin.  It leaves my legs feeling ridiculously soft and since it helps with exfoliation it takes care of any stray ingrown hairs too!  The only downside is that it’s a tad expensive in my opinion.  I always hunt for sales and buy several at once.  This bottle is all gone but I have another one on reserve from the last sale I found.

I also use the CeraVe PM Facial Moisturizing Lotion in the morning, contrary to what the packaging says.  It’s oil free and works very nicely under makeup.  I think it would be good for anyone with sensitive, oily, or combination skin.  For very dry skin types I’m not sure it would be hydrating enough.  I buy them two at a time when they’re buy one get one half off.  Definitely one of my favorites!  Another one I’ve been loving is the Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Replenishing Moisturizer.  This is the first tube I’ve used up and I already have a new one open.  I use this at night and sometimes during the day if my skin is super dry.  It works really well to hydrate my skin, but I prefer it for night time because it leaves a slightly sticky finish.  For daytime I like to mix a little of this with a little bit of the CeraVe moisturizer to make it more makeup friendly.

empties5

I’ve also finished a Smashbox Photo Finish Primer (already repurchased).  It keeps my foundation looking nice all day and prevents it from wearing off around my nose and chin.  I’ve written more about it in my Everyday Makeup Staples post.  The Cinema Secrets Professional Brush Cleaner is my go to for spot cleaning brushes.  The bottle looks rather odd empty, normally it’s filled with bright blue liquid.  It’s also very good for deep cleaning concealer and gel liner brushes.  It really gets every last bit of product out of the bristles, and it smells like vanilla!  My L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes Excess mascara has outlived its three month lifespan and it’s time to say goodbye.  I would repurchase this because I really enjoyed it.  It’s very black and gives lots of volume.  If you’re interested you can read my full review here.

empties6

Next I have a rare empty for me, a fragrance from Marc Jacobs.  This is their Daisy Eau So Fresh Sunshine limited edition from last summer.  They have a new set of limited edition Daisy fragrance variations out this summer that smell similar, but slightly more white floral.  This one was very fresh, fruity, and clean.  It’s a very happy scent.  I’m a little sad to see it go because it was absolutely perfect for summer, but it also means I have space for a new fragrance purchase.  Any recommendations?

empties7

Now on to non-beauty things, I have three candles.  Two are from Bath & Body Works.  Their Winter Vanilla Latte is absolutely the most perfect vanilla scent ever and I really hope they bring it back next winter!  It’s warm and creamy with a hint of caramel.  The Lemon Mint Leaf candle smells just like a mojito and I actually have a backup burning right now.  A refreshing scent for spring and summer.  Both of these I’m going to clean out and repurpose the jars for other things.  I’ve also finished a Yankee Candle in Cherry Blossom.  This one was nice while it lasted but I probably wouldn’t repurchase.  This is a very soft, powdery floral scent.  It wasn’t as strong when burning as I wanted it to be.

empties9

As my last random empty, I’ve finished off a Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Vanilla tea.  This has chamomile, spearmint, lemongrass, and vanilla.  It’s caffeine free, very tasty and relaxing.  As a result it’s always one I like to have on hand.

empties8

One last thing I have to share that isn’t an empty, it’s my miniature yellow rose bush that decided to bloom!  It does this a few times a year but I always get excited to see that I’ve managed to keep a plant alive for so long.  My boyfriend used to call me a plant killer so I brought home this rose bush to prove him wrong.  A year and a half later it’s still going strong!


What beauty bits have you used up lately?  Will you be repurchasing?  Share in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Empties No. 1

Leave a Reply

