A Few Blogging Awards

After having my blog for only about three weeks, I received a couple of very nice comments nominating me for blogging awards. I’m still quite new to the blogging community and I’ve waited a while to participate in the award posts because I wasn’t really sure what they were all about. As I understand it, blogging awards of this style are a good way to share a little more about yourself with your readers. In addition, you also share some of the newer blogs you enjoy reading. From my perspective there’s a bit of self promotion involved, but as I’ve been exposed to more of these award posts I find them a wonderful “getting to know me” opportunity. They also help you to feel more involved and accepted in the blogging community, which is something I think any blogger will appreciate.

Just a note about my nominations for these award tags, I’m only going to choose a handful of people for each one.  I still don’t know too many other smaller bloggers like myself and I feel like I’d run out of people to nominate!  Also a HUGE thank you to each and every one of the girls who nominated me for an award.  I know it took me a while to get around to this post, but I really appreciate the recognition and feeling more included in the beauty blogging community.


veryinspiringblogaward

Very Inspiring Blogger Award Tag Rules

1. Thank and link the person(s) who nominated you.
2. List the rules and display the award.
3. Share 7 facts about yourself.
4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs. Remember to comment on their blogs to let them know you’ve nominated them and provide a link to your post.
5. Display the award logo anywhere on your blog I.E. on your side bar and follow the person who nominated you (optional).

I received nominations from both Ronen Diamond of Fashion, Makeup, and Other Things and Rachel of Rachel’s Beauty Bites.  Ronen blogs about beauty and lots of random lifestyle things, as well as sharing links to her YouTube channel (as well as having a vendetta against brown lipstick?). Rachel is a very sweet young lady who does lots of swatches of products in her makeup collection and I love her Saturday Standouts posts!

Seven Facts About Me

  1. I did ballet for about ten years. It was my first hobby and my love for the art will be with me forever.
  2. I have 13 ear piercings (but none anywhere else!) and one tattoo.
  3. I am extremely organized and always have been. My dad used to joke that if I ever tried to make a mess everything would just fall on the floor in neat little piles.
  4. Also according to my dad, I mastered sarcasm by the age of 6.
  5. The first car I learned to drive was one that was made the same year I was born. It was a stick shift with an extremely heavy clutch, but I grew to love it! Now I have my own manual car, which I have driven in high heels more than once 😉
  6. I really want to learn Spanish. It’s my boyfriend’s first language (he’s Dominican) and some of his family speaks very little English. He’s taught me all the curse words though!
  7. Outside of the US I’ve visited Australia, the Dominican Republic, and England. My most recent trip was to England and I completely fell in love with the lifestyle, cities, and culture (not so much the VAT). After college I hope to find a way to move there.

My Nominations

the beauty ninja
Bronze and Blush
a casual beauty
beautytype
xcluelessbeautyx


liebster-award

Liebster Award Tag Rules

1. Once nominated, choose 11 other blogs (with less than 200 followers) to nominate.
2. You will also have to answer whatever questions the blogger who nominated you asked.
3. Finally, notify the blogs you want to nominate so they can have a chance to continue spreading the love & give them your own set of 11 questions to answer!

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Jaclyn Comeau, who has a beautifully designed blog with lots of reviews and beauty advice/info.  I’m very new to her site but so far I’m really enjoying it!

  1. What inspired you to begin blogging?
    1. Estee from EssieButton. She has a very fun blog and she’s one of the few beauty YouTubers that I actually watch every single one of her videos & vlogs.
  2. Who is your role model?
    1. I have several I think. I would put my grandmother, one of my ballet teachers, and my dad at the top.
  3. Do you collect anything? If so, what is it?
    1. Aside from makeup? Currently I have an ever growing collection of anatomy books and in the past I’ve collected smashed pennies, Beanie Babies, and Seraphim Angels.
  4. What is your favourite holiday?
    1. Christmas! Easter is a close second, but I think Christmas wins. I love all the delicious food and that I usually get to see more of my family. Opening stockings is my favorite part!
  5. What is your all time favourite TV series?
    1. Friends. It was the first TV show I ever started watching regularly, and I watched for several years before the finale (I cried). Now I own every season on DVD and once in a while I’ll go on a Friends watching kick..
  6. Who was the last person you talked to?
    1. Victor, my boyfriend.
  7. What is the most unique thing about you?
    1. According to Victor it would be my creativity. I feel like it’s because I’m a rather atypical girl, but I’m not quite sure how to even encompass all of the things that are different about me. I feel like things that irritate most girls don’t bother me and I’m interested in a lot of stuff that most girls find boring.  For example, I enjoy learning about cars and fixing furniture, I don’t understand celebrity gossip, and it doesn’t bother me when Victor goes out with his guy friends without me.
  8. Morning person or night owl?
    1. I’m in an odd transition phase. Before last year I was a night owl all the way, but now I’ve started having to wake up at a “big girl” time for work and school so I’m becoming more of a morning person. It still takes me about an hour and a good cup of tea to be fully awake though.
  9. Favourite genre of music?
    1. Reggaeton.  Yep, about 2/3 of the music on my iPod is in a language I don’t fully understand.
  10. What are you thankful for everyday?
    1. My family and friends, the fact that I have a (relatively) safe place to sleep every night, air conditioning, and running water.
  11. What is your definition of success?
    1. If you are proud of what you have accomplished then I say you’ve succeeded.  For example, our couch was broken after a certain significant other of mine did a jump landing on it.  One of the support beams across the bottom just pulled free of the cheap ass staples they used to put it together, so I pulled out my tools and ran a couple of screws through the beam that should hold a lot better!  Took me about three hours and a trip to Home Depot, and I’m sure any master furniture builder would sneer at my work, but it’s fixed and looks good as new!  I’m pretty damn proud that I fixed it myself so I think that equals success.

My Nominations

Jennificient
Very Erin
Mandarie
Cardiff Beauty Blog

My Questions For You

  1. What is your all time favorite mascara?  Choose one high end and one drugstore/high street.
  2. If you’re running late and only have 5 minutes to do makeup, what products do you use?
  3. What is the one hair product you couldn’t live without?
  4. Share your worst makeup fail moment!
  5. What really makes you want to read a blog?
  6. What is your favorite spot in the whole world?  Somewhere you go to feel safe and calm.
  7. Coffee or tea?
  8. What is an interest, hobby, or skill of yours not everyone knows about?  (other than your blog)
  9. Share your best beauty advice/tip for anyone who’s new to makeup.
  10. What makeup or skincare item are you currently coveting?
  11. Share a unique fact about yourself.

the-beauty-blogger-of-the-month-award

Beauty Blogger of the Month Rules

Please visit Cecilia’s Corner for all of the details, but essentially you answer the questions listed below and leave a comment on Cecilia’s post to enter yourself into this monthly giveaway.  Prizes vary each month, but in the past I’ve seen things from Benefit and MAC!

I was nominated for the Beauty Blogger of the Month by reifylove.  I adore her blog and love reading all of her posts.  I feel like she puts so much thought into all of her work and it makes her site a pleasure to read!

Here are Cecelia’s questions:

  1. Where does your makeup inspiration come from?
    1. It can come from anything. Sometimes I’ll be inspired by a mood or by a particular color. Other times I’ll see a look on Pinterest or YouTube and try to recreate it.
  2. What are 3 of your makeup Holy Grail products you cannot live without?
    1. NARS Sheer Glow Foundation is a new discovery for me but it’s become a firm favorite! Photographs beautifully, wears well, gives good coverage, and isn’t drying.  NARS Cairo Eyeshadow. You wouldn’t think much of it just by looking at the pan, but it’s the perfect “dear lord I have no idea what makeup to wear and I’m running late” sort of color. It’s a light rosy tan with the most beautiful multicolor shimmer sprinkled throughout. NARS single eyeshadows are huge but I use it so much I may eventually have to repurchase!  Soap & Glory Sexy Motherpucker in Nudist is an excellent “my lips but better” shade for my skin tone. It’s super hydrating with a nice balmy texture that sticks around longer than your average gloss and comes in a convenient twist up crayon. It’s equally appropriate to wear with a naked face or fully made up. I’ve never finished a lip product so quickly.
  3. What is your makeup signature look which you have on most of the time?
    1. I’ve never really thought I had a “signature” look, but I suppose I do have a preferred way to wear makeup. I guess that counts? I always go for fresh, perfected skin that still looks natural (not too made up or heavily contoured) with a neutral eye. I can’t do makeup without applying blush! I usually go easy on the liner with a good dose of mascara so my lashes look full and black but never clumpy. I like the end result to look like someone increased the gamma correction and contrast in Photoshop, but isn’t really wearing a whole lot of makeup.
  4. Let us know your favorite makeup brands?
    1. Urban Decay, NARS, L’Oreal, and Rimmel
  5. Your ultimate makeup pet peeve?
    1. I could write a book on makeup pet peeves… I shall share my top two: Wearing the wrong foundation shade and not blending down onto the neck to disguise it; and only wearing black eyeliner in the lower waterline or lashline. For the latter I haven’t seen anyone it looks flattering on and it makes me think of a baseball player with black greasepaint smeared on their face.
  6. You’ve heard about all the hype on this makeup item, bought it, tried it and don’t understand what all the fuss is about…Name that product!
    1. L’Oreal Carbon Black Mascara. I’ve tried the original and the waterproof. On me it smudges and flakes something terrible, and there’s just way too much product on the brush!
  7. Concealer OR foundation ONLY for the rest of your life. Choose one and tell us the reason!
    1. Foundation, mostly because I haven’t found a concealer I’m 100% happy with. My current favorite foundation (NARS Sheer Glow as stated above) can be built up on areas needing more coverage without looking cakey. It’s not quite as full coverage as a concealer, but it gets the job done.

My Nominations

Say Hello To Gorgeous
honor recommends
Look Beyond Beauty
annie’s beauty

Again, thank you to all of the lovely ladies who nominated me!  If you’re a new beauty or lifestyle blogger and would like to share your site with me feel free to leave a comment below.  I’m not online as much as I was this summer since I now have the lovely responsibility of doing well in classes, but I will get to yours eventually!  It’s always nice to discover new blogs.

(Read: One comment please.  Not spamming with a dozen comments, that’s annoying for everyone!)

signature

13 thoughts on “A Few Blogging Awards

  1. Thanks for the nomination! I totally understand your bit about transitioning from being a night owl to a morning bird. Since my husband started working for an engineering firm about a year and a half ago, it’s been the same experience for us.

    Like

  2. Friends is my absolute favorite show too!! I can quote every episode:) Thank you again for my nomination! You can look at my answers to the questions on my blog if you’d like to learn a little more about me too!

    Like

  3. Thank you again for the nomination! 🙂 My most recent ex boyfriend is Dominican and I ended up taking a few semesters of Spanish in college so that I could understand his family during family gatherings. Lol it didn’t help much though because the Spanish that is taught in classes is pretty different from the type of Spanish that they speak. It was a fun experience overall and I’m glad I got a chance to learn it incase I need to speak it for my job or something though. 🙂

    Like

    • It’s true, I’ve heard my boyfriend speak the most ghetto Dominican and it’s very odd! We were taking a cab in the Dominican Republic and it was pretty sketchy… I was very clearly not Hispanic and he told me not to talk. I’d like to know how to speak it for work purposes too!
      You’re very welcome, I can’t wait to see your answers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

