Best for Dry, Dehydrated, Sensitive Skin | Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Replenishing Moisturizer

IMG_3740e

I always hesitate to use the term “holy grail” product, but if there’s any instance where I make an exception this is it.  The Skin Recovery Replenishing Moisturizer by Paula’s Choice is the best moisturizer I have ever tried.  Some key ingredients in the formula include several plant derived oils, glycerin, squalane, hyaluronic acid, and antioxidants such as Vitamin E.  It’s marketed towards people with very dry or sensitive skin, eczema, rosacea, or those concerned with wrinkles and anti-aging.

I have very dehydrated, acne prone skin.  This keeps my skin soft, plump, and doesn’t cause breakouts.  I don’t find that it reduces redness significantly, but it definitely soothes my skin and makes it feel very comfortable.  I started using it just as my night cream, but my skin has become so dry I now use it morning and night.  The product website also recommends it as an eye cream.  I tried this for a while, but if I apply it to the lid and browbone area overnight it makes my eyes look very puffy in the morning.  It’s not an allergic reaction type of puffiness, I just think it’s too hydrating and plumping for that area of skin on myself at this age.  Applied just under the eyes before makeup it works well though, particularly in conjunction with the drier formulas of long wear concealers (MAC Pro Longwear, I’m looking at you).

IMG_3746

The moisturizer itself is a fairly thick, off-white cream.  It smooths evenly over the skin and absorbs well.  Initially it leaves a slightly tacky finish to the skin, and I’ve found it works best when given several minutes to really skin in before applying SPF and/or makeup.  It’s fragrance free so it has very little scent.  The packaging is a simple squeeze tube that’s convenient for travel.  I go through a tube a bit more quickly than I’d like, but some nights I do slather on quite a lot!  Paula is very anti-jar packaging which is good for ingredient longevity, but in an effort to get every last drop I will cut open the tube and decant the remaining cream into a little jar.  A few days exposure to oxygen hasn’t decreased its effectiveness so far!

IMG_3742e

The only downside is that the Paula’s Choice brand is currently only available online, but they do offer samples so you can try before you buy.  Another annoying thing I noticed when looking up product links is that the price has increased from $24 to $28.  Based on comments on the website it could be due to the fact that they’ve had trouble keeping it in stock, or it could just be caused by general price inflation that happens over time.  Irritating though it is, it’s still a very fairly priced product and I will continue to buy! (I’m sure that statement just made the marketing team very happy)  Sales and special offers are quite frequent on the website, so check back regularly for some great deals.


The Verdict

I can’t even remember how I first discovered the Paula’s Choice skincare line, but I am so thankful I did.  They offer a wide range of skincare products to suit all skin types and many skin conditions that can make finding a good skincare routine difficult.  They also do clinical testing, which is rare for skincare brands because of the cost, but it ensures that their claims are backed by quality scientific support.  This moisturizer is a winner for anyone with dry, dehydrated, or sensitive skin, and I’ll probably continue to buy it as long as they keep making it!


Animal Testing:  Paula’s Choice does not perform any animal testing.

Availability:

Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Replenishing Moisturizer
$28.00 USD
2 fl oz/60 mL

 

Have you ever tried anything from the Paula’s Choice skincare line? Do you have an all time favorite moisturizer? Share in the comments!

signature

Leave a Reply

